Happy Birthday Anne Frank!

f32cd547c86952494cd5b82dda5c37e6

Anne was a feisty and wise little girl. I wish I had known her. She was a wonderful writer and had a beautiful mind. If you haven’t read her diary, I recommend it to everyone. I’d rather share her words here than my own. So that is how it will continue. Happy (belated) Birthday Anne!

 

  How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world.

 

  I know what I want, I have a goal, an opinion, I have a religion and love. Let me be myself and then I am satisfied. I know that I’m a woman, a woman with inward strength and plenty of courage.

 

  Everyone has inside of him a piece of good news. The good news is that you don’t know how great you can be! How much you can love! What you can accomplish! And what your potential is!

 

  It’s difficult in times like these: ideals, dreams and cherished hopes rise within us, only to be crushed by grim reality. It’s a wonder I haven’t abandoned all my ideals, they seem so absurd and impractical. Yet I cling to them because I still believe, in spite of everything, that people are truly good at heart.

 

  I don’t think of all the misery, but of the beauty that remains.

 

Her thoughts are beyond me. It was through struggle she brought out light. It always felt a bit like I was violating her life by reading her diary. Reading the depths of someone’s mind seems intrusive.

But thank you Anne Frank. You have inspired me and made me think and appreciate my life. She saw through the darkness she was in. Saw that gratitude in life must be stronger. I will take her words with me, and I hope you will too.

One thought on “Happy Birthday Anne Frank!

  1. Anne Frank’s Diary – An inspirational book that I truly loved . I remember reading it in awe as a teenager- how brave Anne was. Have shared your oost in Pinterest & Flipboard.

    Like

Leave a Reply

