What Should I Write?

getting out of a reading Slump (1)

 

This was a guest post I did for Lost in a Story. I wanted my readers to be able to see it so, here it is.


My mind has been a mess lately. I want direction. But I guess everyone wants direction. Or do we already have a direction, we just do not see it yet?

I love to write but I have little skill in it. I am interested in movies and nature and health and animals and botany and so many other things. I read somewhere that you spend approximately 80,000 hours of your life working. I don’t know if it’s just me, but that is quite a few hours to spend doing something you may not enjoy.

I want so much to enjoy life. But is that just a new way of thinking? A western culture way of thinking?

That doesn’t mean it’s a wrong way of thinking, just maybe a more self centered way.

Hundreds of years ago, people really had a place in society. Each had a job to do. Sure there were those that were privileged and those who were trampled on by society, but for the most part people were all part of a bit working machine. We all had more purpose in my opinion.

Side note: I’m not saying back then was “better”.

Now it seems to me everyone is looking for a new way to please themselves. Even if people do things for others, many are just seeking for their own fulfillment.

What are we going to waste our lives on next? Is there a right or wrong answer?

This post was very much so a stream of consciousness. I wanted to whip up an interesting post, but whenever I began typing, it felt fake. I want my blog to be real, raw, and beyond all else, I want it to look like me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

